Customers reviews

What people say?

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Genesta House
Average rating:  
 52 reviews
 by Mark Waller

Great customer service and information on local attractions.

Thanks for the taking the time to leave us a review Mark, we really appreciate it. It was lovely to meet you both.

 by Annika and Oliver
We loved it!

Thank you Simonne for the two days we spent well looked after in the Fernery in Genesta House. And thank you for the extra hazzle you went for a gluten-free tasty breakfast and the lovely blueberry muffins. We would haved loved to stay forever!
We really enjoyed this very clean and lovely room and the garden view from the porch. The beach is in two minutes walking distance and we just recommend Genesta Guest House to everyone!

It was so lovely to meet you both. Thank you for your kind comments. We always love to hear how much our guests enjoy their stay at Genesta House. Safe travels.

 by Karyn Bishop-Webb
Wonderful Stay

We recently celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary by enjoying a getaway weekend at Philip Island. Simmone - Guest Co-ordinator could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The friendly information and assistance we received was nothing short of excellent. The attitude and character of the staff sold our stay at Genesta House. The accomodation was delightful, the little touches of kindness were wonderful.

It is always so lovely to be a small part of a special occasion for our guests - thanks Karen for your very kind comments. We love to spoil our guests and make your stay at Genesta House extra enjoyable and relaxing.

 by Danielle Gibby
MOST ENJOYABLE ACCOMMODATION

The ambience at Genesta House B&B is very warm and calming. Had a lovely overnight stay in the Lily Pilly Room followed by a very generous breakfast. Renovations have been made with great thought - modern while still retaining the original character of this beautiful old home. Hosts were very gracious and accommodating. Thank you Simonne for our lovely stay. We will be back

What a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed staying with us. It makes us so happy when our guests love our little house and garden as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you both again.

 by Jen
Best little B&B

This is the best B&B I’ve stayed at! Simonne (and Max!) warmly greeted us and showed us around. She also gave great recommendations on what to do and when. The room was so cozy and well stocked with food for breakfast. Very clean and warm. Overall great experience!

What can we say! Thank you for your glowing review Jen. It was lovely to meet you both and we are so happy that you got the absolute best experience for your quick visit to Genesta House. Safe travels guys.

 by Stephan
beautiful place - we‘ll come back!

Lovely room + garden and delicious breakfast. Owners are super friendly, especially the assistant receptionist 🐶

Thanks Stephan - it was great to meet you both.

 by Keith Baker
October Visit

Cozy and well appointed room with good breakfast supplies. Lovey garden setting in walking distance to Cowes town center.

Thanks Keith. We appreciate your feedback.

 by Ken and Dhru
Lovely little oasis!

We loved the Genesta House and the wonderful hosts! Everything was so well organized and detailed right from a lovely note from the host to a stocked breakfast nook to a cozy and tranquil outdoor space. We loved having breakfast with chirping birds and nature. My daughter roamed around on the patio and had fun seeing all the nature and colors. Loved the whole experience and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a cute/cozy place in the area!

Thank you guys for sending us such lovely comments. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay. Safe travels.

 by Linda Lopez
Wonderful stay

This is our third visit. Rooms are lovely and clean. Everything is very welcoming. The hosts are friendly and made us feel very much at home. Close walk to main hub of Cowes and the beach. Old world rooms and garden are calming and it’s lovely to sit on the porch with a refreshing drink and nibbles.

Thanks Linda for letting us know how much you love Genesta House. We really value your support and appreciate your feedback. We too just love sitting on the verandah, glass of bubbles, listening to the birds and the trickling water.

 by Alva Hemming
It's the personal touches that count!

OMG! What a hidden gem is this little boutique B&B! Tucked away in a delightful location yet so close to the beach and jetty (for wildlife cruises). It is such a historic little property surrounded by lovely gardens. Open the gate and step into a whole different world. My suite was beautifully appointed and came with the most delightful of treats, thanks to hosts Simonne and Marcus. A little balcony overlooking huge trees and garden, fabulous shower, comfy bed and oh so inviting to just kick back and relax. Treats included fab 'help yourself' brekkie provisions, chocolates, port and really great coffee bags. I loved my stay and felt totally pampered and privileged to stay in such a historic gem right in the heart of Phillip Island.

Thank you so much Alva for your lovely comments. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Genesta House & beautiful Phillip Island. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Simonne & Marcus

 by Mairi Kerfoot
Very relaxing

We stayed for our son's 30th birthday. It was the best time and Simonne could not have made us feel more welcome even buying a gift for our son! Simonne is very knowledgable of the local area and does whatever sha can to make your stay enjoyable. Simonne has created an area of calm and serenity. Absolutely beautiful and we hope to come back soon. Highly recommend Genesta B&B.

Aww thanks guys. It was so lovely to meet you all, and I'm so glad that you had such a great family weekend. We look forward to seeing you all again.

 by Phil and Janet Hutt
Home from Home

Even better than last time, and will look forward to the next 🥰
The chocolates and Port are a luxurious touch, and the brekkie is perfection. We love it here 🤘❤

Thank you so much guys. It was great to see you again and meet your family. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

 by Jody • July 2021
COMFORTABLE. CLEAN. CARING. - WE LOVED IT!

My partner and I went to Genesta House for our 5th Anniversary, and it did not disappoint! Simonne was absolutely wonderful and left my partner and I a bottle of sparkling and chocolates as she knew it was our anniversary. We were very grateful. Thank-you Simonne and Marcus for a wonderful stay.

 by Pat & Keith • July 2021

My husband and I were unable to stay due to a medical episode so cannot comment on the beds, but the short time we were there was very good. Our friends stayed for the 2 nights and enjoyed their time immensely. They would like to join us at a later date after my recovery from my accident. Many thanks to Simone for your assistance on the evening of my accident. Have now returned home from hospitable.

 by Chandler • July 2021
WOULD RECOMMEND!

Lovely B&B! The garden is especially lovely, and the hosts were very helpful!

 by Steven • July 2021
QUIETLY PAMPERED!

Breakfast healthy and substantial. Little touches like port and chocolates appreciated.

 by Charmain • July 2021
EVERYTHING THING TICKED OUR BOXES WAS GOOD TO GET AWAY FOR A FEW DAYS GREAT PLACE.

Breakfast excellent good choices and always topped up. Enjoyed the homemade chocolates very nice touch to our stay. Location good for walking to restaurants and local shops.

 by Emma • June 2021
CUTE LITTLE COTTAGE

What a cute little cottage just off the main street! Nice and quiet with a short walk to the beach to watch the sunrise! The little set up and kind gestures go along way!

 by Andrea • May 2021
GREAT WITH SUPPORTIVE AND FRIENDLY PROPRIETORS.

Attention to detail, pleasant staff, great location. Comfortable and very clean. Appreciated advice regarding COVID lockdown.

 by Don • April 2021
ACCOMMODATION WITH SOME NICE EXTRAS

A little present of a bottle of red & shortbread biscuits was a lovely touch. There is mozzie spray & sun tan lotion in the bathroom(if needed) & a great continental breakfast included in the Tarif. Bathroom looks like it has been recently renovated & the owner Simonne was very helpful.

 by Deborah • April 2021
PERFECT

The location to the beach and the town centre were such a bonus. The attention to detail and unexpected added extras to our stay were so appreciated and included fruit, cheese and wine. The information offered by Simonne as to where to visit was spot on. To be advised to take coats to the penguin parade was a godsend as it was indeed very chilly! We loved our stay on Phillip Island and would love to return again one day. The resort opposite was slightly noisy but not bothersome. The bed was a little creaky.

 by Sarah • April 2021
BEST B&B

Genesta House exceeded my expectations. The breakfast spread was awesome, and the amenities were great. I appreciate that Simonne and Marcus use sustainable and ecofriendly products where possible. Simonne is a great host, who has a good knowledge of the island and activities/restaurants to visit. This place is also a 2-minute drive/5 minute walk from the Main Street where all the food and shops are. The garden and rooms themselves are beautiful. Overall, amazing place to stay.

 by Sonam • April 2021
SUPER COSY B&B

decorated beautifully with incredible attention to detail. Has everything you need. And a beautiful garden. Simonne was very welcoming and helpful, suggesting some great activities and eateries. We absolutely loved our stay!

 by Stuart • April 2021
PERFECTION ON THE ISLAND

Genesta House is metres from the beach and the Main Street - but surprisingly quiet and secluded. Exceptionally clean and everything you need. Simonne and Marcus are wonderful hosts!

 by Renaye • April 2021
NUMBER 1 IN COWES! BEST OF THE BEST!

Breakfast was more than enough for two, loved the fresh fruit and strawberries in fridge and also the care taken to provide soy milk (bless) 😊 The property is absolutely amazing!!! Host Simonne was amazing!! Only thing the hair dryer didn’t like me as it was only blowing cold air and maybe just maybe down the track add some croissants or danish items for breakfast 🌻

 by Anonymous • April 2021
HIDDEN GEM

Super clean and full of characters! This place is like a hidden gem. Beautiful veranda overlooking the garden and fishpond. The host was very welcome. Breakfast was so lovely. Situated on a quiet street but walkable to the beach and all the shops.

 by Scott • March 2021
THE ONLY REASON TO NOT RAVE ABOUT THIS PLACE WOULD BE TO KEEP IT SECRET.

Breakfast was top notch. Warm and helpful hosts. Peaceful oasis in a great location.

 by Angela • March 2021
CHARMING B&B

A beautiful, charming B&B. The continental breakfast was lovely, and the location is within walking distance to the beach & restaurants. The hosts are wonderful and had plenty of recommendations for places to visit, both for nature walks and delicious food/coffee.

 by Brooke • March 2021
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!! FOR OUR WEDDING NIGHT

Presentation Inside and Outside.

 by Leila • March 2021
I FELL IN LOVE WITH “GENESTA HOUSE” FIRST VIA PICTURES BUT FELL EVEN MORE IN LOVE WITH THIS GORGEOUS COTTAGE WHEN I ARRIVED

We loved everything ... but most of all loved the cosy comfy cottage with its sweet & tasteful decorations. Nothing that we didn’t like.

 by Rainier • February 2021
ROOM WAS WONDERFUL, EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS

Great location easy walk to anywhere in town. Beautiful garden and surroundings. We were provided with extra little things to make us really feel welcome. There was nothing we didn’t like.

 by Leanne • February 2021
AWESOME B&B

Such a lovely, clean and well-presented room. The small differences included the extra surprises in the room- cookies, port, strawberries, chocolates, and nice breakfast. The garden was relaxing and peaceful. So close to the main shops and beach, walking distance.

 by Eithne • February 2021
WONDERFUL, COMFORTABLE STAY!

Loved our stay in Genesta House, would love to have stayed longer! Communication with the hosts was great, even to help us find a park on arrival! Simone was so welcoming and informative about walks and restaurants in the area. The setting of the B&B and the room was beautiful and very tranquil. The bed was very comfy and had everything we needed - including some chocolate and port as additional touches! Location was wonderful, short walk to the Main Street of Cowes. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

 by Rachel • January 2021
JUST PERFECT!

The hosts were so incredibly welcoming and passionate about Phillip Island it made us excited to explore the island! The accommodation was perfect for me and my partner, and we loved the extra touches! Would stay again.

 by John • January 2021
RELAXING AND ENJOYABLE

Relaxed, quiet and comfortable in a luxurious garden setting. Nothing was too much trouble for Simonne.

 by Lauren • January 2021
CONVENIENT LOCATION, LOVELY STAFF, BEAUTIFUL ROOMS

We very much enjoyed our stay at Genesta House. We loved the convenient location which is close to Cowes beach and shops, and the new owners, Simonne and Marcus, are welcoming and friendly and were happy to give us tips on places to dine and visit. The rooms were beautifully furnished, the beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were newly renovated. We booked two rooms and they kindly offered to open the door between the rooms. The continental breakfast was great and of high quality, and we were delighted to come back to a surprise of wine and a variety of cheeses on our second night. Thank you, we will definitely be back!

 by Joan • January 2021
DELIGHTFUL

Simonne the host went out of her way to make sure i was comfortable. The breakfast was delightful especially with the freshly baked bread delivered to my door. I loved the treats that were included just to make the stay extra special.

 by Sean & Rachel • January 2021
GOT A TREAT EVERY DAY WHEN THE ROOM WAS CLEANED

Relaxing and peaceful. Sat outside for hours with the water fountain going was just perfect.

 by Kristy-Ann • January 2021

A fabulous location, approximately 500m (or less!) to the beach. Simonne was a perfect host and the room was lovely with all of the required facilities. The Florentines and port were a lovely touch and the breakfast provisions were great! Cereal, yoghurt, fruit and toast with a variety of coffee and tea also provided. Would certainly stay here again and will doubtless bring people with me. I just wish I could have stayed longer!

 by Claire • January 2021
OUTSTANDING!

Genesta House is a delightful little place. Simonne and her daughter warmly welcomed my son and I when we arrived, and showed us our room and its facilities. There were lots of little touches that helped to make our stay so enjoyable - port and chocolates, a wedge of Brie and strawberries in the fridge, and a delightful breakfast for the following morning. Simonne’s granola was next level, and there were two varieties of yoghurt to put with it, as well as fresh bread, butter, jams, juice, fruit. Honestly, it couldn’t have been better. Walking distance to the beach and restaurants. I would HIGHLY recommend Genesta House to anyone visiting Cowes.

 by Ed & Bianca • January 2021
EXCELLENT ROOM IN A VERY CUTE GARDEN, MINUTES FROM THE BEACH. OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY!

Breakfast was excellent - Simonne even picked up some fresh croissants for us on our first day at no extra cost. She also dropped little gifts into our room each day (including cheese and wine!) which is such a lovely touch. Simonne is fabulous and made us feel so welcome.

 by Mercedes & Aaron • January 2021
IF I COULD, I WOULD GIVE THEM A 12 INSTEAD OF A 10

What can I say? Ever since I came back from Genesta House I don’t like my house anymore! I want to live in that cozy room and have breakfast every day in that verandah! Another great benefit of that would be having Simonne and her family as neighbours, the nicest people in town! We were spoiled with that beautiful garden, the room decorated with impeccable taste, unbeatable location, and a great breakfast in the morning. Even if I liked others B&B I’ve been to, this is the only one I know I’ll be coming back. Make yourself a favour and book it today!

 by Anonymous • January 2021
LOVELY RELAXING ACCOMMODATION!

I would highly recommend Genesta house and look forward to returning. Thank you Simonne for the friendly and thoughtful welcome! The location is great with the beach at the end of the street and shops and cafes also very close. Room was comfortable and beautifully decorated, and it was nice and relaxing being able to sit in the garden. The breakfast was nice and generous with a good range of choices. There was also complimentary port wine, chocolates, delicious home-made biscuits, fruit, coffee and tea! I really enjoyed myself and would have liked to stay for longer.

 by Rali & Francis • January 2021
WARM HOUSE WITH VERY CARING HOSTS

Simonne and Mark are the most humble hosts that my wife and I ever had the opportunity to stay with. We stayed at Genesta house for 7 nights during early Jan-2021. WARM & QUIET: Filled with positive energy, the house offers everything that one needs either for a quiet timeout or for a romantic getaway. On some days we chose to read a book on the front deck while enjoying the views of the great outdoors and sounds of the chirping birds, while on other evenings we enjoyed our take-away dinner on the beautifully decorated space with fairy lights and picturesque evening sunlight. GREAT LOCATION: The house is located within walking distance to stunning beach fronts, mouth-watering cafes & restaurants, spacious parks, shopping centres (Aldi, Coles & Woolies) and is surrounded with great walking/running tracks. CARE & HOSPITALITY: With all the measures that were put in place to ensure that we are offered a hygienic environment, it did not surprise us to later learn that Simonne practiced nursing prior to starting the business. Thank you for the banana breads, Croissants, Cheese & biscuits and your homemade cookies. But most importantly thank you for your love and care. Simonne also gave us some great tips about places to explore locally. We believe that irrespective of what you choose to do during stay on the island, the house, Simonne, Marc & Max will leave a everlasting warm and memorable impression on you. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than Genesta house during our visits to Philip Island. Thank you, Simonne, Mark and Max.

 by Brigid • January 2021
CLEAN BEAUTIFUL ACCOMMODATION. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Beautiful, charming accommodation with modern touches set in fabulous old world garden. Loved the outdoor areas particularly the front verandah with comfortable seating options. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Excellent location; easy walk to beach and main street. Simonne was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would love to stay again and highly recommend.

 by Anonymous • January 2021
BEST BNB IN PHILLIP ISLAND

I can’t find any flaws about the property. The room was very tidy and beautiful. Bathroom was very clean. We were spoiled with wine and cheese and crackers and fresh fruits every day. They catered to all our needs. Will definitely be staying here again. I just fell in love with it 🥰

 by Izzy • January 2021

Simonne went above and beyond in making sure me and wife were comfortable. We loved our room, and the breakfast was very well thought through! High quality and I will definitely be back in the future :). Cheers.

 by Naz • January 2021
PERFECTLY SPLENDID!

I highly recommend staying at Genesta House. It was extremely clean and nicely decorated. Everything we needed and amazing hospitality and amenities. Walking distance to everything; to beach and town. Thank you, Simonne & Marcus.

 by Ashleigh • December 2020
EXCELLENT

Everything was excellent wish we stayed longer.

 by Rebecca • December 2020
A NICE, QUIET NIGHT AWAY!

Breakfast was provided and was everything you could needed. Simonne went over and above to help us with plans for the weekend and show us maps etc. All in all,

 by Elissa & Joel • December 2020
BEAUTIFUL, RELAXING, AMAZING SERVICE, 10/10 WOULD DO AGAIN

The breakfast was amazing! Simonne was very accommodating and had swapped out a couple of items (dietary intolerance). We had a selection of strawberries, sourdough bread, yoghurt, granola, cereal, milk, tea, good coffee bags, water bottles, etc. We had a little surprise each day which was awesome! It was so thoughtful. Other service was also amazing (towel cleaning, beach towels, etc). The room was so well styled and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and newly renovated. It was very close to the foreshore. Overall, a very good stay and we'd love to go back.

 by Michelle • November 2020
OLD WORLD CHARM WITH THE BEST HOST!

Simonne was super welcoming and went beyond to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. We received special treats, flowers, food, and port. I don't usually take time to write a review, but this was totally worth it! I highly recommend, I am super fussy. Old world charm with the best host! Would absolutely stay again!